Fairmount Rowing Association was founded in 1877. The facility, #2 Boathouse Row, is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The original building was built by Pacific Barge Club in 1858-59. Quaker City Barge Club bought half the house and built an addition, the current entrance, in 1875. The other half of the building was purchased by FRA. then torn down in 1904 and replaced with the current Flemish-bonded brick structure, designed by Walter Smedley. Fairmount purchased Quaker City in 1945 and connected the interior of the boathouses.
Fairmount originally attracted the predominately blue-collar Fairmount neighborhood youths. In recent years they have mostly been known as the premiere club for Masters rowing in the mid-Atlantic region. Fairmount also boasts a small but excellent Juniors program, and even a few Elites. The club holds a number of popular annual social events, and hosts the Quaker City Masters Regatta.